Reliable Orange County DUI Defense Lawyer
Arrested for DUI in Southern California? Call the Firm for Help!
In the State of California, a person can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if he or she drives a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs or under the combined influence of both. Moreover, a person can be charged with an additional DUI offense if he or she drives a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. If convicted, you could face serious prison time and heavy fines.
The experienced and affordable Orange County DUI lawyer Scott D. Hughes can make all the difference if you have been arrested. Scott Hughes is a capable and aggressive Orange County DUI lawyer that can fully investigate the charges and create a plan of defense that has the greatest chance of standing up in court.
Know the Penalties You Face
Hiring an experienced DUI lawyer can greatly increase your chances of winning your DUI case in Court. There are numerous defenses to driving under the influence charges. Consult with the experienced DUI attorney Scott D. Hughes about your possible defenses.
Penalties for a DUI conviction in California can include:
- First offense—4 days to 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, 30 days to 10 month's license suspension
- Second offense—10 days to 1 year in jail, up to $1,800 in fines, 2 year's license suspension
- Third offense—120 days to 1 year in jail, up to $1,800 in fines, up to 3 year's license suspension
- Under 21 DUI—driver's license suspension of 1 year
You will also likely have to install an Interlock Ignition Device in your vehicle at your expense following a conviction. Other penalties include community service and completion of a substance abuse program.
California DUI DMV Hearing Attorney
In addition to the Court proceedings, if a person is arrested for a DUI, it is paramount that he or she requests an administrative hearing from the DMV within 10 days of arrest.
Orange County DUI Attorney Scott D. Hughes can provide you your best defense during your hearing. Since the DMV Hearing will be the first opportunity to challenge the allegations and evidence the government has against you, it is very important to have an experienced lawyer at your side.
If the DMV hearing shows there is no basis for a license suspension or revocation, the action against the driver's license will be set aside and full driving privileges will be restored.
An Orange County DUI Defense Attorney Can Help
The experienced Orange County DUI Attorney Scott D. Hughes can significantly reduce your fines, fees, length of alcohol program and jail time. This is especially true not only for first time offenders but also in cases of second, third and fourth DUI arrests. In most cases, your presence in court will never be required.
Call the Law Offices of Scott D. Hughes to discuss your case today!